Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Chautauqua Institute

I am very pleased to report that Tracey Meares, Ward Hale Hamilton Professor of Law at Yale University, will deliver Chautauqua Institution’s 12th annual Robert H. Jackson Lecture on the Supreme Court of the United States, on Monday, July 11, 2016, at 4:00 p.m. in Chautauqua’s Hall of Philosophy.

Tracey L. Meares is a leading scholar, teacher and writer, focusing on criminal procedure and criminal law policy and emphasizing empirical investigation of those subjects.  She has worked extensively with the United States government, including from 2004-11 as a member of the Committee on Law & Justice, a National Research Council Standing Committee of the National Academy of Sciences, and on National Research Council committees that reviewed, respectively, research on police policy and practices, and the National Institute of Justice.  In November 2010, Attorney General Holder appointed Professor Meares to serve on the U.S. Department of Justice’s newly-created Science Advisory Board.  In December 2014, President Obama named Professor Meares a member of his Task Force on 21st Century Policing.

Professor Meares has been a Yale Law School professor since 2007.  She previously was Max Pam Professor of Law and Director of the Center for Studies in Criminal Justice at the University of Chicago Law School.  At both the University of Chicago and at Yale, Professor Meares was the first African American woman law professor to be granted tenure.  Before going into academia, Tracey Meares was a law clerk for the Honorable Harlington Wood, Jr., of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit and then an Honors Program Trial Attorney in the Antitrust Division of the U.S. Department of Justice.

Chautauqua Institution, a special venue of arts, education and recreation in western New York State, was a very significant part of Robert H. Jackson’s life, his broad and self-directed education, his public speaking training and experiences, and his thinking.

For an earlier Jackson List post on Chautauqua Institution, click here.

For Chautauqua Institution’s website, click here.

The Jackson Lecture at Chautauqua Institution is a leading annual consideration of the Supreme Court of the United States, on which Justice Robert H. Jackson served from 1941-1954, in the weeks following the completion of the Supreme Court’s annual Term.  Chautauqua’s Jackson Lecturers have been:
2005:  Geoffrey R. Stone, University of Chicago professor;
2006:  Linda Greenhouse, New York Times writer and Yale Law School professor;
2007:  Seth P. Waxman, WilmerHale partner and former Solicitor General of the United States;
2008:  Jeffrey Toobin, staff writer at The New Yorker and CNN senior legal analyst;
2009:  Paul D. Clement, Bancroft PLLC partner and former Solicitor General of the United States;
2010:  Jeff Shesol, historian, communications strategist and former White House speechwriter;
2011:  Dahlia Lithwick, senior editor at Slate;
2012:  Pamela Karlan, Stanford University professor;
2013:  Charles Fried, Harvard University professor and former Solicitor General of the United States;
2014:  Akhil Reed Amar, Yale University professor (click here for video); and
2015:  Laurence H. Tribe, Harvard University professor (click here for video).
For further information on Professor Meares’s upcoming lecture, click here.
Coincidentally (and not), this year’s Jackson Lecture at Chautauqua Institution will occur on July 11th, the 75th anniversary of Justice Jackson’s appointment to the Supreme Court of the United States.
Please share this information with others, and thank you for your interest.


John Q. Barrett
Professor of Law, St. John’s University, New York, NY
Elizabeth S. Lenna Fellow, Robert H. Jackson Center, Jamestown, NY


Post a Comment

<< Home